I didn’t want to vaccinate my baby

I knew that would get everybody’s attention! Calm down…it’s not what you think. And no, I do not want to start a debate because I know that people have differences of opinion when it comes to vaccinations. So please, no arguing or fighting! 

I just mean that I hate the fact that Amelia received two shots yesterday – because seeing her in pain crushed my heart. Don’t get me wrong… she was totally a rockstar. Yesterday when we went for her two-month checkup she received two shots. Each time, she cried really loud when the doctor gave them to her, but right when I picked her up to soothe her she quieted down and was fine for the rest of the day. She did not get a low-grade fever and wasn’t even more fussy than usual.

I am so glad that the appointment is over, though, because I was dreading it for about a week before we had to go. You know those kids that you hear screaming and crying because they don’t want to get a shot? Well, that was me growing up. The doctor would literally have to bring nurses in to hold me down so that they could prick my finger to get blood out or give me a shot. Okay, they kind of still do. Yes, my baby was more brave than I am. 😉 

When Amelia was born, we let the doctors give her the vitamin K shot for the blood clotting. But, we opted not to have the eye ointment and to hold off on the hepatitis shot. She got the hepatitis shot yesterday along with the other shot that contains a few vaccines. We just didn’t want them to poke her with a bunch of needles right when she came into the world. I am very happy with our decision to hold off on the hepatitis shot until this last appointment. 

On another note, I dressed Amelia in this pretty brown onesie yesterday. The onesie has pink trim around the neck and also a pink flower underneath the chin area. I had her in baby jeggings and some cute boots. My bad. I’m not helping her case for looking like a girl. While the pink trim and the flower were there, her cute chubby face pretty much hid the girly part of the shirt and she looked like a tiny version of her dad. LOL. I looked for a headband, but I didn’t have any that weren’t super elasticy (yep, made up a word) and wouldn’t leave marks on her head. Ah well, she’ll forgive me. She looked like one cute boy.

IMG_9723

IMG_9713-1Maybe she won’t forgive me… She looks pretty upset in that second picture. And her soft spot makes her head look creepy. LOL. Oh, babies.

And here is our sweet Amelia Mae at home resting after her doctors appointment. And then getting to see her auntie Tanya last night.

IMG_9725

IMG_9730

Leave a comment